The boyfriend likes to eat everything.  I have not found anything that he absolutely doesn’t like.  Well, I was close with cinnamon but when I began sharing this information with others, suddenly he didn’t mind cinnamon so much.  There are a few things that I know he favors, however, so since I can’t avoid the bad I tend to ensure he gets his favorites.  One of those is grapefruit.  

While shopping for our next cooking adventure, we came across these citrus hybrids- crosses between grapefruit and pomeloes.  The point was to get a sweeter grapefruit and a smaller pomelo.  We weren’t exactly sure what we were buying but they were only 1,500₩ each.  We sacrificed for science and decided to try two- the Melogold, and the Sweetie (some call it an Oroblanco).  That’s the first and last in the picture, with the pink grapefruit in the middle.  

If you can read Korean, you can see the heading of the poster is for the World Citrus Fruit Festival.   Glad we could take part in discovering!  Korea grows the most delicious tangerines I’ve ever tasted- time to branch out to other countries.   
We were a little surprised at the amount of rind and pith each one had.  They resemble a pomelo in this regard.  The fruit was orange sized or smaller, but the whole fruit was larger than most grapefruit.  I wonder what the peel would taste like candied?  

  
The fruit was sweet, but a hint of the grapefruit bitterness remained.  The Melogold and the Sweetie tasted different, but both tasted like grapefruit.  The boyfriend and I agreed that we both liked the Melogold better, but when testing such a small sample, perhaps the Sweetie we picked simply wasn’t ripe?   If they’re trying to breed the bitterness all out, I would sat they still have some work to do- but neither required adding sugar.  They were juicy, but the membranes seemed extra thick.  I don’t know if I would recommend peeling and eating in segments, since we weren’t able to eat the membranes with the fruit.  The plasticky thick texture ruined the juicy interior, since after the sweetness was gone, you were still chewing the skin.  We began spitting it out or eating around it as best we could.  

I probably wouldn’t buy either of these to eat plain regularly, but I would say they have a promising juice market, since they are already sweet but still taste bitter at the end- for diehard grapefruit lovers.  I bet they would also be delicious in cake, like this one the boyfriend and I tried recently.  Would you believe it’s called Denmark Diet Cake?  I’ve been dieting wrong all this time!  

 
We had just eaten a fancy dinner- it was his idea and his expense!  고마워!  While waiting to be seated, I had admired the cake in the shop across the mall isle.  As sometimes happens with fancy dinners, you pay more and don’t get quite as much food as you might like, so we had a few corners left in our stomachs.  I returned the favor of dinner by walking directly across to the cake cafe.  As I said, when I see grapefruit as an option, I have a higher chance of choosing it, since I know he likes it.  He would want me to say he would be happy with anything, but of course I want him the happiest!

If I could make this cake with Melogold, however, I would first need to discover the secret of how they kept the cream from absorbing the fruit’s juice!  Anyone have any tips?  

Taste Test Tuesday- Scientifically Bred Fruit

3 thoughts on “Taste Test Tuesday- Scientifically Bred Fruit

    • I would say it’s like a regular grapefruit with sugar. The grapefruit taste is still there, but sweeter. It also has that “grapefruit aftertaste” that ruins the sweetness right at the end. If you keep eating it, you’re ok! 😉 The melogold was the better of the two.

Leave a Reply

